Practical information

About Abu Dhabi

Located on the eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula, at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa, the United Arab Emirates is a federation formed in 1971 and made up of seven emirates.
The emirate of Abu Dhabi is the largest of the emirates and represents more than 85% of the territory.
Abu Dhabi is the capital of the United Arab Emirates.
It is one of the world’s most prosperous and rapidly developing cities. In little over half a century it has seen a dramatic transformation from a small Bedouin settlement to a thriving business and tourism centre of global stature. The island city of Abu Dhabi is a lush, modern metropolis, complete with treelined streets, futuristic skyscrapers, huge shopping malls and international luxury hotels.
The city is surrounded by the sparkling waters of the Arabian Gulf which offer a striking contrast to the large parks and green boulevards spread across the island.
For more information about Abu Dhabi visit visitabudhabi.ae.

 

Currency

The local currency is the United States Dirham (AED or Dhs), which is divided into 100 yearns and is indexed to the US dollar.

  • $ 1 = 3,6725 AED
  • 1 AED = $0,2722
  • 1 € = 4,1133 AED
  • 1 AED = 0,2431 €

Official language

The official congress language is English. There will be no simultaneous translation to other languages in the congress sessions.

Daily life

Local time

The UAE are 4 hours ahead of the UTC/GMT.
Thus, regardless of the time change that does not apply to the UAE, at 12pm in Abu Dhabi, it is:

 

3.00am

in New-York

8.00am

in London

10.00am

in Johannesburg

13.30am

in New Delhi

6.00pm

in Sydney

 

Power Supply

Power supply in Abu Dhabi is 220/240 volts at a frequency of 50Hz.
Square plugs with three plugs are standard.

Clothing

Visitors (both men and women) are advised not to wear excessively revealing clothing in public areas, as a sign of respect for local culture and customs. Some places such as nightclubs require guests not to wear shorts, caps or sport shoes on their premises.
As for the weather recommendations, lightweight summer clothing is suitable for most of the year (summer, spring and autumn), though a light sweater or cardigan could be handy when visiting a shopping mall, hotel or restaurant where the temperature might be kept low to counter the outdoor heat.
Slightly warm clothes are needed for the short winter season, especially in the evenings.