Practical information

To our HVS Members, Colleagues and Industry Partners

Following recent inquiries from some attendees, we want to reassure you and confirm the full commitment of the Heart Valve Society Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and our 2020 faculty for the 2020 Annual Meeting, which will be held in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates from February 14-16.

Developments in Iran and Iraq at the start of the year have had no impact on life in the United Arab Emirates. Abu Dhabi remains a very safe place for residents and guests, and one of the most secure, connected locations to host a meeting like ours.

We continue to monitor the situation, which has de-escalated during the last few days. The reassurances of world leaders – in the US and the Middle East – provide the HVS leadership with the confidence to move ahead. We will gather the global community of healthcare professionals committed to the treatment of heart valve disease in Abu Dhabi in February, to network, share and exchange at the highest level.

We look forward to seeing you at HVS 2020 in Abu Dhabi! It will be a truly memorable event.

 

About Abu Dhabi

Located on the eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula, at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa, the United Arab Emirates is a federation formed in 1971 and made up of seven emirates.

The emirate of Abu Dhabi is the largest of the emirates and represents more than 85% of the territory.
Abu Dhabi is the capital of the United Arab Emirates.

It is one of the world’s most prosperous and rapidly developing cities. In little over half a century it has seen a dramatic transformation from a small Bedouin settlement to a thriving business and tourism centre of global stature.

For more information about Abu Dhabi visit visitabudhabi.ae.

 

Currency

The local currency is the United States Dirham (AED or Dhs), which is divided into 100 yearns and is indexed to the US dollar.

  • $ 1 = 3,6725 AED
  • 1 AED = $0,2722
  • 1 € = 4,1133 AED
  • 1 AED = 0,2431 €

 

Official language

The official congress language is English. There will be no simultaneous translation to other languages in the congress sessions.

 

Daily life

Local time

The UAE are 4 hours ahead of the UTC/GMT.
Thus, regardless of the time change that does not apply to the UAE, at 12pm in Abu Dhabi, it is:

 

3.00am

in New-York

8.00am

in London

10.00am

in Johannesburg

13.30am

in New Delhi

6.00pm

in Sydney

 

Power Supply

Power supply in Abu Dhabi is 220/240 volts at a frequency of 50Hz.
Square plugs with three plugs are standard.

 

Clothing

Visitors (both men and women) are advised not to wear excessively revealing clothing in public areas, as a sign of respect for local culture and customs. Some places such as nightclubs require guests not to wear shorts, caps or sport shoes on their premises.

As for the weather recommendations, lightweight summer clothing is suitable for most of the year (summer, spring and autumn), though a light sweater or cardigan could be handy when visiting a shopping mall, hotel or restaurant where the temperature might be kept low to counter the outdoor heat.

Slightly warm clothes are needed for the short winter season, especially in the evenings.

Visa and Speaker e-permit

According to the Government of Abu Dhabi’s regulations, all conferences have to apply for a speaker permit.
In order to apply for this permit, it is MANDATORY for all HVS speakers to provide some specific documents to be able to participate in the meeting.
The speaker e-permit is not for visa purposes. You might need a visa to enter the UAE. Visa processing might take sevral days and is your responsibility.
We highly recommend you to liaise with Visa specialist agencies to check if you require a visa or not. If you require an invitation letter for your visa application, please see our dedicated section here.